SDF.ORG boosted
SDF.ORG boosted

your program is not cross-platform if I can't run it on plan 9

SDF.ORG boosted

Bronzie Beat - Embers

Chill to the 3am lockdown campfire vibe and join the late night fireside chat on @SDF com or IRC.

Dropping on an anonradio.net Open MIC session some time soon

Open Mic - 03:00 - 06:00 UTC daily - you too can stream!

SDF.ORG boosted

VCF Midwest 15 Virtual Event!

Let's do this thing online
vcfmw.org/virtual.html

A Virtual VCF Midwest?

We're going to try...

The year is 2020. It should have been the 15th Vintage Computer Festival Midwest, exceeding Number 14 in size and scope and all dimensions and laying (temporary) waste to another hotel ballroom...
mailchi.mp/1f03fef220b3/vcf-mi

SDF.ORG boosted

Tracklist for last week's Movement Through Thought, #180 "Make Steps":
cev.sdf.org/2020/08/09/mtt-180

and at :
anonradio.net/mtt-180-make-ste

Electro and Miami bass. That particular late '80s early '90s bass attitude. This show features tracks by Aux 88, Dynamix II (and Dynamix 2), Iceman Ja, Keisha Boom, Maggotron remixed by Soundchasers and Hydraulix, and more. Some of my favorite records.

SDF.ORG boosted

THE RESISTANCE 09 - Waveguide

• 00:00 UTC / 10:00 AEST Wednesday 12 August
• 8pm EDT / 5pm PDT Tuesday 11 August

Get into the groove and catch the Waveguide for a mid-week vibe injection. Come for the harmonics, stay for the hook of @SDF com and IRC chat.

DJ Bronzie Beat will be live streaming an eclectic selection of choice waves, crafted by the likes of A Flock of Seagulls, Hot Chip, Sia, Flume and The Human League.

anonradio.net

SDF.ORG boosted

Some deep diving in the man pages and Plan 9 papers in /sys/doc took me to to the troff/nroff macro system. Seems like Bell Labs made extensive use of this format and Plan 9 includes tools to compile it to PostScript, PDF and HTML.

I'll probably start taking notes my Plan 9 notes in it, just to get the hang of it - plan9.io/sys/doc/troff.pdf

Show thread

SDF Plan9 Boot Camp 2020 continues with a handful of slices available. email membership to get yours!






SDF.ORG boosted

Very happy to see plan9 going around on mastodon. Excited to see what people start to make with it. For those looking for a fork, I highly recommend starting with 9front, being the most actively developed and best documented.

SDF.ORG boosted

The National Museum of Computing, on the Bletchley Park campus, is to reopen in early September. And in the meanwhile, they present a 3D virtual tour - I've collected some links to particular points of interest - but there's a lot more in there, including ICL, Elliott, lots of microcomputers.



retrocomputingforum.com/t/tnmo

SDF.ORG boosted
SDF.ORG boosted
SDF.ORG boosted
Show more
Mastodon @ SDF

"I appreciate SDF but it's a general-purpose server and the name doesn't make it obvious that it's about art." - Eugen Rochko