so recently i tweeted on the "bird site" about something interesting i noticed on the facebook landing page - if you're logged out, the site's js will check to see if your browser filled in an autofill / autocomplete username, and if so, sends it back to facebook, presumably for tracking reasons.

this kinda pissed me off, since i've had a deleted facebook account forever, but have (as any normal internet user will be forced to do) gone to facebook links. they really got me this time!

@bnchdrff It’s a good reason to purge your autofills periodically, or turn them off.

Follow

@publius true enough, my personal vigilance was lacking. but i'm really curious how they might be using that data; it's so insidious!!!

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Mastodon @ SDF

"I appreciate SDF but it's a general-purpose server and the name doesn't make it obvious that it's about art." - Eugen Rochko